Crumbs

February 4, 2005 at 12:10 pm Leave a comment

Some ‘splaining to do:

-Over to the right under ‘Favorite Weblogs,’ one of the links is for the Julie/Julia Project. If you go there, you will notice that it hasn’t been updated since August of last year. The project was actually completed long ago, but I put the link there anyway because it’s worth checking out the archives if you haven’t read it already. This blog was inspired by Julie, and while I won’t be endeavoring to cook over 500 hundred French recipes in one year, if I can be at least a fraction as entertaining while describing my kitchen trials and tribulations, I’ll feel like I am doing my job here.

-By popular demand; my actual recipe for the chicken chili:
2 – 12.5 oz cans Kirkland white chicken meat
2 racquet ball-sized yellow onions, chopped fine and rinsed of any blood after I chopped my finger
2 of the bigger garlic cloves from the outside the bulb, minced fine
2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp ground oregano
1 tsp ground coriander
2 – 4.5 oz cans chopped green chiles, undrained (I used Ortega in the blue can)
2 – 15.5 oz cans Goya Alooooooobias (cannellini beans), rinsed and drained
1 – 14 oz can College Inn chicken broth (also purchased in bulk at Costco)
1/2 a can of water – I rinse the sides of the broth can as I refill it halfway to get the extra chickeny goodness out of it
2 or 3 scallion stalks chopped
A sprinkling of shredded cheese. This time I used mozzarella because it was what I had, but I liked Monterey Jack better the last time.
Cooking spray (At the moment, I have Stop & Shop brand canola spray)
Goldfish crackers (cheddar)
Beano – chewable tablets

Spray the bottom of a soup pot with cooking spray. Add the chopped onions and cook over medium-ish heat until the onions are clear and soft. Add the garlic and saute two minutes. Add the cumin, oregano, and coriander and saute 1 more minute. Add the chiles, stir, reduce heat to low and cook partially covered for 10 minutes. Snack on Goldfish crackers while waiting, if desired. Add the chicken, mushing it a bit with a fork against the sides of the can before dumping it out to break it up a little more. Add the broth, water, and beans and stir. Cover and simmer 10 minutes. Serve topped with the cheese and scallions, and the Beano on the side. (I like 2-3 tablets – there’s a lot of beans in there!)

– If you didn’t see the latest Good Eats on Wednesday night at 10:00, the same episode is on again tonight at 7:00. AB is making coq au vin, there’s a live rooster involved, and it is freakin’ hilarious.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Dinner… From A Can! D’oh!

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed